Dog-eared Old Friends

11 Sep

I’d say most of us here love books. Probably have one or two (or three or four) bookshelves lined with adventures and stories and knowledge cultivated through the years.

What books have stayed with you? Which ones did you love as a child? Which ones kept you smiling through high school, and which ones do you STILL get a little nostalgic when you see the title standing there in your bookshelves, waiting patiently for you to read it again?

I’d like to restrict the list to titles you found before high school, if possible.

Tami’s List

Beauty, by Robin McKinley. A retelling of Beauty and the Beast, this was the book that made me fall in love with writing. [ Amazon Link ]

Lad, a Dog by Albert Payson Terhune. This is the story of Lad, a standard collie, and the trials and tribulations that took he and his family through wars, dog shows, thieves, and puppies. [ Amazon Link ]

Beautiful Joe by Marshall Saunders. Based on a true story of a dog cruelly mutilated as a puppy and raised by a family that loves him, this was the first book on animal cruelty that I truly understood. [ Amazon Link ]

Watership Down by Richard Adams. This one came later in my list than the others, but follows a group of rabbits as they try to rebuild their warren in the face of humanity, but also more dangerous rabbits. This is still my favorite book ever. [ Amazon Link ]

4 Responses to “Dog-eared Old Friends”

  1. Kel September 12, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    O.O
    ……

    Holy cow, Lad was my favorite book ever for so many years. My poor little paperback version is literally falling apart, I read it so much. It’s what made collies one of my absolute favorite dog breeds, as well.

    Thank you so much for the Amazon link. I had almost given up on finding any of Terhune’s books anywhere. ❤

    • Tami September 12, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      My hardcover of both Lad and Beautiful Joe has been taped back together so many times you can’t even read the spines any more. ❤

  2. Anna September 12, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    Oh man. Beautiful Joe. I cried SO HARD at that book, and would love to find another copy. (This link from Amazon has more information about the story, which is apparently actually true.) Also a big fan of Watership Down, and trying to find a hardback version at work.

    The book that sticks with me the most though is Norton Juster’s The Phantom Tollbooth. (Also the Bunnicula books, the Redwall books, and the Little House on the Prairie books) Juster’s book is one that I buy and stash and give to kids sometimes though, it was the first book I ever read that made me think about the world I lived in from a totally different angle. What is sound, what are words, what is math? Plus, the wordplay in it is hilarious!

    • Tami September 12, 2011 at 7:35 am #

      Beautiful Joe made me cry as well – the GOOD kind of cry, that feels cleansing at the end of it. Such a wonderful book.

      I remember reading the Phantom Tollbooth as well! And Bunnicula (which I adored). Never did get into Redwall and although I read Little House, I was the only person on the planet who actually liked her sister and thought the narrator was a bit of a brat and a troublemaker. *laugh*

Leave a Reply

