Food. From a Truck.

8 Aug

I always thought getting lunch from a truck was a terrible idea.  Like asking for food poisoning bad.  I mean, how clean can the equipment be?  How fresh the food?  It seemed like salmonella waiting to happen, and thus I thought myself wise for avoiding a thing that I didn’t even have access to, anyway, since there weren’t very many food trucks in Boston to start with.

Then Tyler Florence came along.

The only reality shows I’ll watch are food-based ones.  Make a bunch of people compete in a kitchen and I’m there.  Add to that my favorite Food Network personality (okay, maybe second-favorite.  Alton Brown might win for sheer geeky awesomeness), and well, even though The Great Food Truck Race was based around a serving-style that made my stomach do anticipatory flip-flops, I had to watch at least once.

It didn’t help that, when he caught me sheepishly, guiltily watching the first episode, my husband sat down and watched it with me.  And joined me in our living room the next week for the second episode.  And the next, and the next.

Over the course of the competition, my “dear god it must be crawling with e coli” assumptions melted away.  The food these contestants were making looked good.  Looked tasty and — if not always healthy for you (I’m lookin’ at you, Grill ‘Em All) — at least made with fresh ingredients by people who knew how to cook.

When the race was over, I was kind of sad that Boston didn’t have any food trucks.

Then, this past spring, as I left the train station and began my trek to work, I noticed a little white box truck.  On the way home that evening, the heavenly smell of rosemary fries wafted past.  It wasn’t long before I was slowing down as I walked past, craning my neck to read the Clover Food Truck’s menu board.

They served popovers in the morning.

Popovers.

If you’ve never had them, hie thee to your Betty Crocker cookbook now and find the recipe.  They’re incredibly tasty and easy to make, though I usually only have them at, say, Thanksgiving dinner if my aunt makes a batch.  The popovers did it.  I overcame my oh-god-it-might-kill-me fear and ordered one.  With a cup of coffee.

Both were pretty damned heavenly.  And not only that, but they opened up another location right near my office.

I did not die.  In fact, I’m pretty hooked on their breakfast menu, and their soy BLTs (seriously SO GOOD) are a regular lunch staple for me.

I’ve become a convert.

And season two of The Great Food Truck Race starts this month.  With a team from Boston!

7 Responses to “Food. From a Truck.”

  1. Tami August 8, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Awesome! I don’t think I’ve ever eaten food from a truck, myself (well, unless you count sno cones) but it sounds a lot more upscale than I thought it’d be. (Soy BLT? Popovers? WOW)

    I wonder if there are any in Madison …

    • Tami August 8, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Apparently there ARE!

      • falconesse August 8, 2011 at 9:11 am #

        AFK, going to Madison

  2. Tart August 8, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    I *love* food trucks. They are one thing I miss about Southern California. There are so many of them all over the place, though you do have to be careful as some have the nickname of Roach Coach for a reason. The tacos that come out of those trucks are the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten more often than not.

    Man, now I’m sad about Buffalo’s lack of real Mexican food.

  3. Itanya Blade August 8, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Food Trucks are a staple in Downtown Portland. They are everywhere and they serve just about everything.

    My favorite, when I worked downtown was No Fish Go Fish (http://www.nofishgofish.com)

    Cause tasty cornbread fish stuffed with good things is amazing!

    • Caulle August 8, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      There’s an amazing Mexican truck near work and it looks really clean. Prices are great, service is fast, and the food is amazing. The only thing I’m not super sold on is the Taco Salad, and that’s only because there’s more rice/beans than salad. But it comes in a delicious flour tortilla.

      There’s one shaped like a Pig in downtown Seattle. I always walk by it, but I think next time I see it I’ll make a point to stop.

  4. Claire August 9, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    It is a well known fact among my friends that I LOVE taco truck. My rules of thumb: the truck has to be busy (to avoid said roach coach factor). Tacos should only have 3 things on them, and those 3 things are salsa, cilantro and onion. Dee-lish.

Leave a Reply

