Necessary Vulnerability

2 Aug

Long video but worth it, please watch!

“In order for connection to happen, we have to allow ourselves to really be seen.”

We’re all vulnerable. I am scared of things all the time. What if my financial aid falls apart and I have to drop out of school? What if I meet someone and they don’t like me? What if I tell someone I love them and they walk away?
The problem is, if I run from the scary parts of life then I stop living. I could be so scared of losing my financial aid that I drop out of school and don’t complete my dream of becoming a librarian. I could be so scared of people not liking me that I don’t meet anyone. I could be so scared of rejection that I don’t love.

Every time I’ve embraced vulnerability, my life has been better. I’ve struggled with depression for most of my life, and it wasn’t medication or therapy that ended up helping me. It was explaining to people that I had this problem, and could I please just talk to them for a bit if I felt depressed? I admitted its existence, and continue to do so every time I go down that road, and it is better. In one part of my life, I had the courage to be imperfect.
It has taught me to be compassionate with myself. I’m screwed up and I’ll never be perfect, and neither will anyone else. We are all doing the best we can with what we have.

Love is a scary thing. When you love someone wholeheartedly, you are giving that person permission to hurt you. They can lie, they can cheat, they can leave you. But what if they don’t? What if you are vulnerable enough to say I love you and they take that and love you too?

It’s the best feeling ever. I’m still trying to understand how to be compassionate with myself, how to lean into vulnerability, how to love wholeheartedly, and how to be enough. And every time I can, it’s the greatest thing in the world. It’s hard and scary and also beautiful and joyous.

So please don’t forget, you are enough.

One Response to “Necessary Vulnerability”

  1. Gryphonheart September 1, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Thank you for linking that video. It was definitely worth watching.

Leave a Reply

