So you wanna learn how to knit?

28 Jul

Knitting is a mystical activity invented by ancient druids. Just kidding, knitting was probably invented by illiterate peasants. So just remember – if they invented it, you can do it! It’s really easy, it just takes a bit of practice to get it down. My mom taught me how to knit when I was seven years old, and I’ve knitted off and on ever since. I even worked at a yarn store for a long time, where I taught classes. I learn best visually, so my how to knit comes to you in video form.

First we’ll learn how to cast on!

Then the knit stitch:

And the final masterpiece, the purl stitch:

To get yourself going, go down to your local yarn or craft store and pick out some yarn that you really like. I’d recommend something simple to start with (plain old wool still rocks the casbah to me). The size needles you’ll need will be on the ball of yarn, and I’m sure if you go down to a yarn store the nice people working there will help you if you get confused. Make a scarf or a potholder, and you’ll be ready to move onto a hat. I’m a member at ravelry.com, a free knitting/crochet site, and my username is katerdee. Feel free to add me as a friend! Ravelry is full of helpful hints, free patterns, and forums to ask questions. Have fun knitting!

2 Responses to “So you wanna learn how to knit?”

  1. Bika July 30, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    The socks you knitted for me are still the best socks I’ve ever worn. I’m gonna see if I can learn how so I can wear home-socks every day!

    PS. You are such a geek-shirt fashionista. 😀

  2. knittersplayground July 31, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Yay Knitting!

Leave a Reply

