Summer Reads

8 Jul

Looking for a few good books to read this summer? Here’s some damn good books I’ve read this year:

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by NK Jemisin
I read through this in about two days. Not because it was short, mind you, but because it had an incredible narrative style and a plot that grabbed me by the shoulders and didn’t let me go. Amazing book for a first-time author, don’t pass it up!

Looking For Alaska by John Green
This is a YA book, but could easily belong on any adult’s shelf. John Green has a brilliant grasp on what teenagers are like (from what I can remember of my teenage years, back in the stone age). The story was beautiful, and (warning) it made me cry. If you like Looking for Alaska, do read Paper Towns, also by John Green.

Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick
Is there honor among thieves? Hulick crafts a fascinating world of thieves guilds, swordsmanship, and magic. As someone who practices martial arts and weapons combat, I loved the fight scenes, really well done.

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
Bacigalupi explores what can happen when bio-technology forces humanity both towards extinction and further evolution. This novel had some amazing concepts in it, and is a brilliant debut novel in exploratory sci-fi.

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett
Moist von Lipwig is by far my favorite character in discworld. Pratchett frequently makes me laugh out loud, and this book was no exception. Moist is a clever and warm-hearted crook, and if you like Going Postal, go check out Making Money!

Storm Front by Jim Butcher
As I mentioned in a previous post, the Dresden Files is one of the best series I’ve been introduced to this year. My life would be so much duller now without Harry Dresden in it.

Feed by Mira Grant
I honestly felt frustrated with this book for quite awhile (yeah I get it that Georgia has retinal KA, SHEESH), but it turned out to be one of the best books I’ve read all year. Click the link above to get all the goodness on this book from Falconesse.

What are the best things you’ve read so far this year? I have a stack of to-read books nearly as tall as me, and I’m always happy to add more!

5 Responses to “Summer Reads”

  1. Arrens July 8, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    I just finished reading Fool by Christopher Moore. As a Shakespeare fan, I absolutely /loved/ what he did with this book. It literally had me in tears from laughter at more than a few points. Strongly recommended.

  2. Kyraine July 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Add “The Lies of Locke Lamora” by Scott Lynch for a damn good read. I’m giving a second recommendation for Jim Butcher, his books I’ve read multiple times.

    I also enjoyed the hell out of “The Warded Man” and its sequel “The Desert Spear” by Peter Brett.

    • Verdus July 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      I actually stopped by just to recommend Lies, but you beat me to it! Curses!

      Even though the Discworld series has already been mentioned here, I’d like to put in a special call-out for Small Gods. It’s a pretty amazing take on the difference between religion and faith and how both of them can change people, for better and for worse. And it does all that while still managing to be damned funny! One of the best books I’ve ever read.

      For something not already mentioned at all, I’ll put forward The Name of the Wind. The back of the book says that it’s the story of a hero told in his own words, and this is completely accurate. Personally, I think it’s a story about stories. It’s a very, very good adventure/coming-of-age story that I’m not doing even the slightest justice to. If you’re not willing to trust me, then find and read the prologue for yourself. It’s only a couple of pages, and I’m pretty sure you’ll want to give it a try after that. 🙂

      • Detridus July 10, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

        Small gods is an amazing book. I would also suggest “Monstrous Regiment” also from Mr Pratchett an excellent book that will definitely make you think as well as laugh. I love the quote on the books jacket ” Sometimes – in war as in everything else – the best man for the job is a woman.”

        I give 100 extra bonus points to anyone who knows where the phrase …monstrous regiment.. is from.

        If for some odd reason you are not in love with Discworld , try the “Bromeliad Trilogy” it has an almost unique perspective on its own little world. Great for adults and fantastic for children.
        Please read “Good Omens” Terry Pratchett + Neil Gaiman = win.

        Also “Wee Free Men” may just be one of the funniest books ever written

  3. Verdus July 10, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Also, I like that your links are to Indiebound. I’m sure Falconesse will approve as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

