I-V-vi-IV

20 Apr

Last week, work stole me away to White Plains, where I got to see some of my favorite people and talk about the wicked gorram awesome books I get to sell this fall.

But this isn’t a book post.

On the drive down, we left the radio tuned to Sirius’ 90s station, Lithium. While they leaned pretty heavily on Smashing Pumpkins and The Red Hot Chili Peppers in their rotation, I also heard several songs that have virtually disappeared from the airwaves. Some because we overplayed the hell out of them back then, others because they were one- or two-hit-wonder bands. Others because the bands are still releasing music, and DJs are focusing on their newer stuff.

I figured I’d put together a list of some songs that made me go “heyyyy, I remember this!” and let you stroll down 90s Memory Lane with me. I’m not aiming for obscure songs, here, by the way, just some old favorites.  Chime in with some of your own.  I’ll be over here, rocking out.

U2, “Mysterious Ways”

Belly, “Feed the Tree”

Primitive Radio Gods, “Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth With Money In My Hand”

Candlebox, “Far Behind”

Live, “Selling the Drama”

Cranberries, “Linger”

Luscious Jackson, “Naked Eye”

Mighty Mighty Bosstones, “The Rascal King”

Stone Temple Pilots, “Interstate Love Song”

6 Responses to “I-V-vi-IV”

  1. Anna April 20, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    (… am I horrible if the first thing i thought when reading this was “that should really be I-vi-IV-V-I” or maybe “I-IV-ii-V-I” or maybe even “I-vi-ii-V7-I”?)

    My car trip playlists are usually things like really up jazz, high energy soundtracks and badass orchestral stuff, celtic punk and/or Tartanic (which is hard rock + bagpipes), and occasionally actual rock music, but I don’t own as much of that as the other stuff.

    • Claire April 21, 2011 at 10:50 am #

      It was usually I-V-vi-IV-I or I-IV-vi-V-I, if I remember correctly! Or if you’re listening to any Tom Petty song I-IV-V-I. I-IV-ii-V-I or with V7 gets used all the time in jazz though.

      • Anna April 22, 2011 at 1:05 am #

        I-IV-V-I is four bar blues. And yeah, the ii-V-I progression is more common in jazz. Which is probably why that’s what comes to mind, as i know a lot more about it than I do more current music.

    • Sarai April 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      Why does hard rock + bagpipes sound awesome?

      Although considering one of my favorite bands is Apocalyptica (heavy metal played with cellos), that might not be so surprising…

  2. falconesse April 21, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    It’s probably a case of different teachers. My guitar instructor named that as the 90s progression, which switches around the order from the 50s one. Though it is also entirely possible I wrote them down wrong, as I had like ten tabs open at once when I wrote the post. XD

  3. Marty April 21, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    I see all of your picks (except candlebox) and I raise you the NPR Music team’s 90s podcast. I predict an equal amount of “oh hell yeah, I remember this!”

Leave a Reply

