Skyrim

31 Mar

Nord is my favorite race in the Elder Scrolls universe, and as you might imagine, I nearly peed my pants watching the above trailer. I am a huge Elder Scrolls fan; Morrowind definitely owns a spot on my top five games list. I spent countless hours exploring the world and claiming my place as the Nerevarine. Oblivion disappointed me, and while I’ll try to spare you from my infamous “Oblivion Rant”, some of it may crop up in this post. Sorry kids, I’m just that passionate about the Elder Scrolls.

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim launches on 11/11/11. Skyrim will take place 200 years after the end of Oblivion, the nation having erupted into civil war after the death of the king. You play as the last of the Dovahkiin (Dragonkin), Skyrim’s only hope in defeating Alduin, a god that has arisen in the form of a dragon.

I am really excited about this game. Remember how in Oblivion, your shiny new armor and weapons seemed pretty sad because enemies scaled with your level? In Skyrim, enemy level will be set from the first time you enter a dungeon. If a cave full of big bads is too hard the first time you enter it, you can gear up and level up and come back and own the place. Personally, I like completely destroying things.

Jeremy Soule is returning to write the soundtrack for Skyrim. He’s an amazing composer, and Skyrim’s theme will be sung in Draconic. In Skyrim, your character will speak Dragon, and Bethesda has worked on developing the language as an integral part of the game play. The Dovahkiin has the ability to use Dragon Shouts, special powers acquired through the course of the game. Not only will I be a badass Nord swinging a giant weapon, I’ll speak Dragon. Does that get any cooler?!

A few improvements are being made following Oblivion. NPC’s will being using a new AI, called Radiant Story. Lead designer Todd Howard as described it as allowing NPCs to “do what they want under extra parameters,” hopefully making it so you can’t steal from an NPC just by being behind them. Side quests will change depending on the character’s choices and reputation with the NPCs.

The class system from Oblivion is also gone. Instead there will be “skill trees,” and gameplay choices rest almost entirely on the player. Want to swing a sword and board? Fine. Want to beat baddies up with a giant mace? Sure. Want to light people on fire? Go right ahead.

I loved Morrowind because the world was interesting. The Telvanni area will forever be ingrained into my subconscious; insane wizards living in giant mushrooms. Oblivion was a mass of generic trees and wilderness. I tried to explore after I finished the main quest, I really did, but I got bored. Fast. Howard has stated that in Oblivion, the “wonder of discovery” from Morrowind’s world was lost. Skyrim will be closer to Morrowind in terms of design and feel; Bethesda wants every location in Skyrim to feel unique. The game world is being hand crafted, the generated landscapes from Oblivion are gone.

Come November, I’ll be gettin’ my Nord on and speaking Dragon.

3 Responses to “Skyrim”

  1. Verdus April 1, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    I’m really looking forward to this as well. Oblivion may have had a number of refined gameplay mechanics compared to its predecessor (Morrowind speechcraft hurts my soul), but it definitely didn’t have the sense of magic about its world. Here’s hoping the next Elder Scrolls game will be the best one yet.

  2. Sarai April 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I’ve never played any of the Elder Scrolls games. I got Oblivion ages ago, only to find that it wouldn’t install on my computer. O.o Judging from the number of google hits I got, it seemed to be a fairly common problem, and I wound up returning the game. This one definitely looks interesting, though.

  3. Benjamin April 1, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I have never played Morrowmind, though i wish to, And i have played neither Daggerfall nor Arena, though i still wish i have. I played Oblivion, and by god my life had changed. I LIVE for Oblivion. You cannot fathom… so i will not waste time and effort putting it into words. If Skyrim is as you say, then there surely is a God in Heaven

Leave a Reply

