Women’s History Month — A Reading List

9 Mar

March is Women’s History Month.

Instead of giving you recommended non-fiction reading, I’m putting up the list books by female sf/f authors that are on my desk right now, awaiting a read.  One of my co-workers mentioned trying to find some good fiction by women writers this month, and I thought it would be good to move some of my own to-be-reads to the top of the pile.  It’s just a few for now, because hoo-boy, is this a wildly busy month for me.  But as always, I’m open to suggestion!

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin
All the Wind-Wracked Stars
by Elizabeth Bear
The Midnight Mayor by Kate Griffin
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
The Snow Queen by Joan D. Vinge

Who are some of your favorite female sf/f authors?  What should we be on the lookout for?

7 Responses to “Women’s History Month — A Reading List”

  1. Claire March 10, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Kate Elliott is one of my favorites, her Crossroads trilogy is fantastic.

  2. Itanya Blade March 10, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    C.J. Cherryh is one of my favorite authors.

    The Morgaine Novels are constantly reread.

  3. Reuben March 10, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Robin Hobb, Robin Hobb, one thousand times Robin Hobb. The Farseer Trilogy is one of my top 5 all-time fantasy series.

    K.J. Parker’s pretty cool too.

    • Aggrokitty March 14, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      I adore Robin Hobb, though I think I’m one of the two percent who prefers the Liveship books. 🙂

  4. falconesse March 10, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    We’ve got Kate Elliott on our list! /snags a copy of Cold Magic.

    CJ Cherryh is definitely on the “people I keep meaning to pick up” list. Where should I start?

    I’ve, um, had Assassin’s Apprentice on the pile for like a year and a half. I picked it up not the LAST time Nick was out here, but the time before that. I fail so hard.

  5. louhish March 11, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Where to start with CJ Cherryh depends on if you prefer SF or fantasy, I think. Personally, I like Cyteen best (and the Alliance/Union universe most), but the Morgaine cycle is a better introduction if you prefer fantasy.

    I don’t seen any Robin McKinley on this list yet. I always go back to The Blue Sword, but if you want something less YA she has any number of good fairytale retellings.

  6. Kai Samuelsen March 13, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I really liked Wild Seed, by Octavia Butler. Plus, anything by Ursula le Guin.

Leave a Reply

