I’m in UR Chex Mix, Stealin’ UR Pretzels

24 Feb

There’s chex mix, and then there’s Chex Mix. Trust me when I tell you that the stuff which comes in bags at the grocery store is vastly inferior to the homemade.

Why?

One simple reason.

When I open a bag of store-bought Chex Mix and dump it in a bowl, I am faced with a huge dilemma. Traditional etiquette says that it is not polite to pick out all the pretzels and bagel chip things and leave the rest for someone else. However, when it comes to store-bought Chex mix, you get what’s in the bag. So I’m left eating things I don’t really like or don’t have much opinion about so that I can enjoy those crunchy delicious pretzels. If I make it myself? Half the Chex part, TRIPLE the pretzel part! WOO!

Also, homemade Chex mix is just more delicious. Flavor variations? You bet! No longer are you limited to whatever they happen to have left in the chip aisle at Food Thing. And store bought Chex Mix has partially hydrogenated oil in it. Trans Fats = Ewwwwww.

So Anna, you ask, how do I make my own deliciously awesome Chex Mix?

Well, the original recipe, which is what the “Traditional” bagged stuff is based on, can be found here.

I use approximately the same process (Dump all the stuff in a BIG bowl, melt butter and seasonings in a small bowl, pour over the stuff in the big bowl and stir until evenly coated, microwave), but I usually change up the ingredients. My favorite recipe is another one from my Mother In Law.

Ranch Chex Mix

  • 6 Tbsp butter
  • 1 envelope Ranch Salad Dressing and Seasoning Mix
  • 6 c Chex (I usually use 3 c corn and 3 c multi-bran)
  • 3 c small pretzels
  • 1 c goldfish crackers
  • 1 canister mixed nuts

Now. I will not lie to you. This is not healthy. It’s pretty much straight up processed carbs and fat. I don’t suggest making it for yourself. It’s great for LAN parties, or care packages, or holidays where there are lots of people around to eat it.

Especially if you can pawn the Chex part off on them, and just eat the pretzels.

2 Responses to “I’m in UR Chex Mix, Stealin’ UR Pretzels”

  1. Bika February 24, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    My favorite parts are the little rice and corn Chex pieces. >_>

  2. Anna February 24, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Obviously, you are the perfect person to share chex mix with 😀

Leave a Reply

