Morning Bear Buttermilk Pancakes

22 Feb

I <3 my bird plates.

It’s not easy to get me out of bed in the morning. After 5 alarms in a 30-minute period, I’m finally conscious enough to get up and help my son get ready for school, but there’s no motivation to go to all that trouble on the weekend.

If you ever have the misfortune to be my waker-upper on a weekend, you may discover what my husband and son already know; I am no bundle of rainbows and sunshine when poked. You may discover that I am, in fact, a great big blonde bear with bad breath and that I hate you. It is an intrepid/fearless/foolish man, woman or child who takes the task of telling me it’s time to greet the day.

We do not like the day star. It burns us.

Being somewhat hobbit-like, I want to sleep in without missing brunch. Unfortunately, no one will give me a wake-up call on Saturday or Sunday (see above). I solved this problem by accident last weekend, when I told my son I would make him pancakes for breakfast if he woke me up.

Ethan is an enthusiastic boy with strong likes and dislikes. Having inherited my hobbit-like tendencies, he also loves to eat and is dismayed if he misses a meal, be it breakfast, second breakfast, brunch, or elevensies. When I say something as amazing (to his ears) as “I will make you pancakes if”, there is very little he won’t do to make sure that those pancakes get into his mouth.

Bright and early that next morning, he came into my bedroom no less than four times to tell me it was pancake time. Eventually I lurched out of bed, found a sweater, and padded out to the kitchen to make the buttermilk pancakes my mom always made for us when I was a kid. I even managed not to growl at anyone before the coffee was done brewing.

Buttermilk Pancakes

1 cup flour
1 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 T. sugar
1 egg
1 cup buttermilk
2 T. oil

Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a mixing bowl and make a well in the center. In a separate bowl, whisk egg, buttermilk, oil and sugar.

Note: If you’re like me and never have buttermilk, add 1 T. vinegar to a measuring cup and fill it the rest of the way to the 1 cup mark with milk, then let it sit for a minute before adding to your recipe. The vinegar sours and curdles the milk without making your recipe taste like vinegar. Use a mild-tasting white or cider vinegar. Soy milk works fine.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and whisk briefly. Don’t overstir the batter. See all those lumps? Those are what make your pancakes light and fluffy. Stirring the lumps out means tough, gross pancakes, and nobody likes those.

Let the batter rest for 5-10 minutes while you reheat a griddle or skillet to around 300 degrees (medium to medium-low on your stovetop). If you flick a little water onto the surface of the pan it should hop around and hiss. If it sizzles and boils off immediately you’ll want to turn it down some.

Brush the pan with a little butter. I like to use a measuring cup to drop the batter onto the hot pan. 1/4 cup = 3-4” pancakes. If if pools out into nice round pancake forms, congrats, it’s not too thick or too thin. If it’s too thick, add some milk to the batter.

Cook the pancakes till the tops are bubbly and the bottoms are golden brown. Flip carefully and brown the other side, then turn onto a plate, spread with your favorite toppings (butter & syrup, butter & cinnamon-sugar, and peanut butter & jelly combos are favorites in my house) and nom to your heart’s content.

Yields: about 1 dozen 3” pancakes.

4 Responses to “Morning Bear Buttermilk Pancakes”

  1. Caulle February 22, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Woah! I just made a Red Velvet cake last weekend and I have some leftover Buttermilk as a result. I had been thinking about making some Buttermilk pancakes and low and behold here’s a recipe!

    I’ll be checking this out this weekend.

    • Bika February 22, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      How fortuitous! They’re friggin’ good, as long as you don’t make ’em too brown and make sure to eat them while they’re hot. Let me know how they turn out. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Morning Bear Buttermilk Pancakes « Seven Deadly Divas -- Topsy.com - February 22, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren Roy and Hillary Monahan, Bika. Bika said: Attack of the Crankycakes: Buttermilk & Missing Fingers http://sevendeadlydivas.com/2011/02/22/morning-bear-buttermilk-pancakes/ […]

  2. Pancakes and Postscripts | Bika Central - February 22, 2011

    […] I have a post about crankycakes McGee (that’s me) over at Seven Deadly Divas today. You should go read it. […]

Leave a Reply

