My Phone Is An Honor Student

31 Dec

For the last two years, I had a not-quite smart phone. When SSH* and I originally switched our phones together to be one plan, there was a really great buy one, get one free deal on an LG touch screen phone, and we went with that, because we’d just bought a house and had no disposable income to speak of.

Of course, we quickly discovered that buy one, get one free deals on LG touch screen phones means you’re not actually getting a smart phone.

Sure, it had a browser. But it was pretty basic, the screen was tiny, the touch part of the screen didn’t work so well after about a year, and there were no apps available for it besides what we could buy directly from our provider for exorbitant prices.

But, being both cheap and indecisive, we decided to stick out those phones until we were available for free phone upgrades again.

“Again” means last week. And though SSH, being the ultimate engineer, is never really sure if he’s getting THE BEST ONE, we realized we couldn’t afford most of the other things we’d been looking at (thanks to very generous company discounts), and now both have iPhones.

It took me about a day to get used to the new interface. Most of that day went like this:

“OOOH. HEY LOOK, IT DOES… *shit, not that button* AND WHEN I DO THIS, IT DOES THAT, AND LOOK IT LISTS MY VOICEMAILS FOR ME AND I CAN LOOK AT RECIPES ON THE INTERNET FROM THE KITCHEN AND HEY THIS APP MAKES TRAIN NOISES” **

And while I’m still confusing the carriage return and the delete buttons (they were switched on my old phone), I’ve come to realize why it is that people really really like this smartphone thing.

Because now?

Internet…. FOREVER!

*SSH = Spaceship Husband, my spousal unit, who is a Real Live Rocket Scientist, and works with NASA.

**That app would be Trainyard, the free version. It is THE BEST GAME EVER. Ok, maybe next to Angry Birds.

2 Responses to “My Phone Is An Honor Student”

  1. Verdus December 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Forever! 😀

    Yeah, I’m not sure I could go back to a “dumb” phone. There’s just too much useful functionality on my own smartphone, mainly stemming from having a constantly accessible, pocket-sized internet portal. The rest is pretty awesome too, but being able to get the information I want from wherever I am is pretty huge to me.

  2. Sarai January 1, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    I’m computer illiterate enough that I’ll probably never get a smartphone, for fear that it would wind up being smarter than me. And internet available anywhere would be a bad idea at work, I’m bad enough with my book-reading. (“Oh snap, my break was over 5 minutes ago?” >.>)

    Also, the linked blogpost sounds strangely like my own life….

Leave a Reply

