I put on my robe and wizard hat

14 Dec

I used to mock World of Warcraft roleplay servers. There was a phrase often used on my old server’s forums anytime someone made a post that could even remotely be read as in character: roleplay server —-> that way. In other words, get out. This is a place of PvP and testosterone, there’s no room for your elves and fairies here. /Say was just a vehicle for being ridiculous. I have an old screen shot of my blood elf hunter in Old Hillsbrad Heroic; he’s saying, “See my tight butt? This is where the DPS comes from.” I can’t imagine typing anything like that in /say anymore, unless it was directed at a troll (not the good kind). I now play on a roleplay server, and I think I’m somewhat well known at this point for being an RPer. Years ago when I mocked roleplay, I never would have guessed that it would end up saving my love of the game.

CAKE

I started my WoW career six years ago, shortly after launch. I was unemployed at the time, so a friend asked me if I wanted to play a new MMO with him. Sure, I said. Why not? I installed the game, and got to the server select screen. My friend told me which server we would play on; it was a PvP server, although I had no idea what that meant at the time. I later learned when a ?? night elf one shot me while leveling in Stonetalon. I raged, I cried, I waited for the corpse camp to be over. After five months (I may have been the world’s slowest leveler) I hit 60, the current level cap. I joined a raiding guild, and made some friends. I learned a lot about the game, I learned what life was like on a PvP server, and I downed some big bad dragons.

And a month after the Wrath of the Lich King launch, I was bored. My guild had broken up amidst a drama storm, and I started raiding again with a small group of people from it. It was the kind of environment I’d never want to go back to now; full of epeen flexing and instant criticism for mistakes. I was still burnt out from Sunwell and Naxxramas felt like a chore. I decided to take a break for a few weeks, clear my mind, and try to get a fresh take on the situation.

I came back four months later. Everyone was miles ahead of me in progression and gear, and I still felt bored. Then one day, an old friend of mine asked if I had ever roleplayed. I told her that of course, I never had, and I didn’t know anything about it. Why not just try, she asked. She told me I could roleplay with her through some quests, and if I didn’t like it nothing lost, nothing gained. I have to be thankful to that friend now, because it was by far the most fresh and fun experience I’d had in WoW in years. Within weeks, I decided to check out life on a roleplay server. I knew a blogger that played on one, so I picked hers.

Nox fire

I knew next to nothing about roleplay when I came to Feathermoon. My backstory was a jumbled mess of lore destruction, and I’d never written an RP story in my life. I was told there was a Horde RP event that took place every Monday in the Barrens, and all were welcome there. So I came; I don’t entirely remember what my early attempts at roleplay were like with these seasoned veterans, but I’m sure they were about as clunky and painful as could be. I wasn’t mocked. I wasn’t told PvP server —> that way. I was welcomed, included, and given a lot of helpful advice. In time I got to know people, started raiding and doing dungeons with them, and became a part of ongoing and new stories. I’ve made amazing friends on Feathermoon, people that were by far more kind to me than I ever would have been to them as a PvP kiddy.

Towards the end of Wrath, content got boring again. Except this time, I still had a reason to log on. For that reason, I love you Feathermoon.

One Response to “I put on my robe and wizard hat”

  1. Verdus December 15, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Woooo! Feathermoon fo’ life!

Leave a Reply

