My abdomen is kicking my laptop.

26 Nov

That’s a misnomer, really.  Chromie is now more of a thigh-top, as I have no lap left.

Hi there.  I’m a pregnant, pregnant gamer chick.  Due in five days.  Five. It’s falling to me to cover the wild and exciting world of the gamer parent.  Spoiler: right now, the wild and exciting world of the gamer parent consists of being about as mobile as a turtle.  This is up to and including being unable to roll over if I’m somehow stuck laying on my back.

Now, I’m not pro in the least.  Husband and I work in the industry, but for as much as I play (roughly “a whole hell of a lot”) I consider myself fairly casual.  But by God, I have a routine.  A routine involving mostly RPing in WoW and “No really, just one more turn and I can wipe that smug fucker Gandhi off the map” in Civ V.

And within fiveish days, that will be promptly change.  FOR-EV-ER.

And there’s more to it than just “oh noes, how will I keep up with the fishing dailies.”    When I first started playing WoW, we lived in a tiny little town of nothing.  Draw a circle around all the Boring in Texas, and we were the epicenter.  When I found WoW I hooked up with a network of friends that have become my primary social circle.  Trouble is, these guys can’t just pop over for a spot of tea whenever they feel like it.  They’re only around when a) they’re online and b) I’m online, and B is about to become a very scarce commodity.

It’ll be a very interesting transition, going from a gamer chick to a gamer mom.  And by ” interesting” I mean “I have no clue how this is going to work.”  (I tried finding a link of Wash’s definition, but YouTube apparently only has the Serenity opening in French audio.  This is perhaps its way of telling me that associating “Oh God o God we’re all going to die?” is probably not the best thing to associate with the imminent laboring.)

We’re at least having some fun with Cafe Press in the meantime.  No better way to pass the days than by making clothing for your little gamer-to-be.

4 Responses to “My abdomen is kicking my laptop.”

  1. Melryn November 26, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Ah the parental gaming life. I would give you hints about how it might turn out but that would A) ruin the surprise and B) No one really knows until it happens for them because everyone is different. Good luck with your new baby and get ready for the most awesome and longest running instance you will ever have. 🙂

    • Jeni November 26, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

      Funny you should mention that. My friend and I were discussing labor in general and he was interested in how long of an ordeal we were facing down.

      me: Six hours is the “average.”
      Delion: Fuuuuck me
      That’s longer than oldschool MC raids.
      And they were painful.

      I thought the comparison was fairly awesomely apt.

  2. Joe November 29, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

  3. Sarai November 29, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    I want one of those shirts for my littlest niece…. >.>

Leave a Reply

