My Name is Twilight, and I am a Mittens

24 Nov

Before I even start on this post, I must warn you that it has very little to do with anything vampiric. I have not, in fact, actually read Twilight, not out of any particular vitriol (ok, out of the vitriol of my friends, in part) but because I don’t really dig vampires, and I don’t really dig books with teenaged main characters. (Other than Harry Potter. And the Dealing with Dragons series. And… nevermind…)

But I digress.

I do dig knitting (and occasionally crochet). And knitting and crocheting are two of those weird pursuits that put you in contact with all kinds of unusual geeky fandom things.

Star Wars Crochet
(From BoingBoing)

There are knitters who have made the hobbit scarves from The Lord of the Rings (and done extensive screencapping to make sure they’re extremely accurate) as well as knits inspired by Rivendell, Gondor, and other Tolkien art. Hogwarts House Scarves have been equally as popular, and in fact there is an entire book devoted to knitted goodies from Harry Potter. There are amigurumi (small crocheted toys/cute things) and knitted toys of major video game characters – and in fact, the website featuring that Bioshock amigurumi is called “Nerdigurumi”. While I’ve not seen knitting/crochet patterns for Aes Sedai shawls, sewing patterns are quite common, and often include beautiful embroidery as well.

Which is a very roundabout way to say that there’s a pretty large intersection of crafters and geeks – one that goes in a different direction than the costumes and conventions.

Which is in itself a roundabout way to say that I am knitting Twilight Mittens. My second pair of Twilight Mittens, in fact – the first were a gift for my mom, the second an impending gift for my sister in law (who apparently really REALLY loved the ones I made my mom). I found the pattern on the internet last year and absolutely fell in love with it. The first pair I made from some of the softest yarn I’ve ever met, and this pair I’m working with multiple strands of different yarn at the same time.

Because that’s the other weird thing about knitters.

I don’t have to have a clue about Twilight to recognize gorgeous mittens when I see them, and to enjoy making them out of really awesome squashy wool.

In fact, if I’m watching a movie, and someone (on screen or in person) walks by in a gorgeous knitted something, I’ll likely drop stitches as I try to peer at the knitted things.

Wait, you mean you don’t knit in the movie theater?

3 Responses to “My Name is Twilight, and I am a Mittens”

  1. Bika November 24, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Oh dang. I can’t let my kid see this, or he’ll beg me for an entire set of knitted Star Wars toys 😡

  2. Claire November 24, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Psst, Bika – those are crocheted. 😉

  3. Verdus November 25, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    Oh man, those things are adorable. Just as long as the one on the right shot first. 😉

Leave a Reply

