Embrace Your Inner Geek

22 Jan

You’ll have to forgive me for being a bit out of blog-touch as of late.  Life has undergone the very strangest transformation into diapers, boobs and gaming.  Little man doesn’t want to move while nursing so we pull up the laptop, turn on Mythbusters, and have some quality cuddle time.

In essence, everything has boiled down to experiences that I find fascinating but the world at large likely doesn’t want to hear about (e.g. the phenomenon of chain soiling himself).  Leaving me feeling very

Thankfully, my doula gave me fodder!  Thank you, doula.  I love you.  Submitted for the approval of the midnight society: my birth story.

With that in mind, let’s talk about geekery.

If you’re reading this, you probably identify yourself as some flavor of geek.  Gamers and technophiles are two groups deeply associated with the traditional idea of “geek,” and WoW players make up a pretty substantial subset of the group.  Yes, I’m a WoW geek, and the husband plays too.  Our doula clearly was made aware of that fact, and WoW’d our birth story appropriately.  Or “appropriate.”

The husband and I read that together and laughed.  But when my inlaws came over and he mentioned reading it to them, I couldn’t give him the silent spousal What-Are-You-Thinking Look fast enough.  The prospect of sharing it with them was mildly horrifying.  It was just too geeky.  Wes’s godfather shared the sentiment, apparently:

It begs the question: how geeky is too geeky?

Of course the idea of a geek hierarchy is not new.  Personally, I’m a WoW RPer.

RPers are generally laughed at even by WoW geeks in general.  It’s the natural order of things.  Those in your little geek circle will almost always have someone that looks down on you (For me, these people are WoW non-RPers and up), and someone whom you look down upon (Goldshire RPers and down).  And God help me if any Goons got ahold of the birth story.  We’d be crucified as neckbearded basement-dwellers who had no place reproducing outside of perhaps multiboxing.

Which I also do. Mirror Image is a bitch.

I wonder though.  Is there any way to thwart this?  If I owned Blizzzard, would that somehow make the geekiness more acceptable?  What if I was just a Dev, or something lesser?  At what scale does this kind of thing become more sane and less “Holy shit, what creepy fans”?

My personal theory is that it’s all about balance.  If you don’t otherwise know that Husband and I are actually productive individuals with other hobbies and interests, the birth story makes it seem like we’re…well, the neckbeards others would assume we are.  But we’re not just WoW geeks; we’re overall gamers, I’m a font elitist and wanna be a falconer someday because that’d kick ass.  Hubby’s got his own bag.  Those who know us (and understand gaming in general) got a kick out of the birth story.  Those who don’t will probably be weirded right out.

What do you think?  Where does the line between acceptable geekery and “Wow, you should seek help” geekery lie?

4 Responses to “Embrace Your Inner Geek”

  1. falconesse January 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Jeni, when we eventually meet, we’re finding somewhere near wherever-it-is to take at least one falconry lesson.

    Also, there’s a book called Fledgling Days that I think you’d really dig. Non-fiction, story of a woman who’s a falconer. If it’s out of print, I’ll get my copy to you. <3

  2. Anna January 23, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    I may not know anyone who can give lessons, but I have some connections in my re-enactment group to people in the Texas area that own various raptors (including an albino Red Tailed Hawk named Katie). If need be, I can see about pulling some strings :D

    • Jeni January 24, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      O_O I WOULD LOVE THAT SO MUCH.

  3. Reuben January 29, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    “Where does the line between acceptable geekery and “Wow, you should seek help” geekery lie?”

    Wherever the fuck one wants it to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

